Happy, Happy, Happy by Phil Robertson: A Book Review

happy happy happy

So this is a bit of a different review than we’ve been used to doing—it is nonfiction and it is about a family you probably know because of their hit TV reality show, Duck Dynasty.  I love Duck Dynasty.  Why?  Well, I am bit of a redneck myself.  I love to hunt, play and work outside, and a bit of facial hair doesn’t scare me.  Well, maybe that much does.  I also love the closeness of family, their faith in God, and ability to put on a good family show.  Uncle Si’s humor helps a bit, too!  With Season 4 just starting on A&E, I decided to read Phil Roberton’s book, Happy, Happy, Happy.

The Good:

All the Robertson’s like Clint Eastwood movies.  Which I always think of when I’m writing the good, the bad, and the verdict of these reviews.  With that and the fact that I hunt, am close with my family, and have faith in God, it turns out I must have a lot in common with them.  To me, a book is always more entertaining when you relate well to it.  That is especially true with nonfiction.  I can tell you I would never, ever read a book written by Snooki.

Happy, Happy, Happy is an autobiography; you learn a ton about Phil’s life and the founding of Duck Commander.  It is a story of good times, bad times, hard work, family, straying from the path, faith, and ducks.  To me, it was fascinating learning about Phil’s life growing up as a kid; they didn’t have much, they lived off the land, and they were very happy.  If you didn’t know this already, and were told that someone was the quarterback that started ahead of Terry Bradshaw at Louisiana Tech and had a Master’s degree in education, you probably wouldn’t have thought that man was Phil Robertson.  The way he has built up Duck Commander from nothing is one of the greatest stories of the American Dream.   It is interesting to see how a business is started from the ground up, and how much hard work and commitment is put into it.  The Robertson family has been involved from the beginning, and the way they not only work together but also pray together and play together is really amazing.

The book tells the stories of several of the family member’s strays into drugs, alcohol, and the party life as well as the tales of their redemption.  The family is not perfect; no family is—but they have always pulled together, survived, and come out better because of it.  Phil is able to reach a large audience because of this and it can give hope to families who are broken or struggling because of these same problems.

Phil has a very wry humor; I loved when he would just randomly insert something like, “My younger brother Silas slept in the other room because he often wet the bed,” and I wouldn’t think anything of it, but then I’d stop and think—hey, that is crazy Uncle Si he is talking about!

The Bad:

I really can’t say much that is bad about this book.  Of course, if you are what Phil calls a “yuppie” than you probably won’t enjoy it.

The Verdict:

Read:

There is so much negativity in the world today so to read an uplifting book like this is fantastic.  If you like the show in any way, are curious to hear the story about someone who has strayed and found God, are happy, happy, happy, or love hunting and the outdoors, you should read this book!

Don’t Read:

Nothing against you, but if you are a yuppie or a member of PETA, or you just don’t like nonfiction, you probably wouldn’t like this book.

Written by Heidi V

Heidi is a co-creator and writer at Definitely Not for the Birds (DNFB). She is an avid reader, a diehard Badger fan, and knows from experience that a good hike can solve almost any ailment. Follow Heidi @heidi_5 and DNFB @not4birds.

